Home > Information

This project is an initiative of the Derwent Estuary Program in cooperation with local and State Government. In 2010 the Derwent Estuary Program organised a walking tracks forum and the various stakeholders who attended all agreed we needed better ways of letting people know about the fantastic walking and riding opportunities in and around Hobart. The Greater Hobart Trails website is the result of those discussions.

About The Tracks

There are a range of walks in the Greater Hobart region to suit everyone, from easy walks for the whole family to more challenging tracks for the experienced bushwalker. The tracks allow you to explore diverse plant and wildlife communities, interesting geographical features and historic sites. They offer a diverse range of environments from coastal beaches and bushland to hilltop vistas and rural scenes, taking in some of southern Tasmania’s most stunning scenery.

Plan your visit

Leave No Trace is an internationally accepted way of minimising impacts on the places we visit. Respect wildlife, be considerate with others, dispose your waste properly.

Be prepared for the walk. Plan your trip ahead, bring enough water, check the alerts, and make sure you are comfortable with the difficulty rating.

The support of the following organisations in developing the Greater Hobart Trails website is gratefully acknowledged:

derwent_estuary_program_logo.svgThe Derwent Estuary Program (DEP) partnership was established in 1999 to provide science to inform environmental management of the Derwent Estuary and River. The DEP has been nationally recognised for excellence in coordinating initiatives to reduce water pollution, conserve habitats and species, monitor river health and promote greater use and enjoyment of the foreshore. In March 2017, the Derwent Estuary Program established itself as a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee.
hobart.svgCity of Hobart – Hobart is a city with outstanding natural, cultural and social qualities that make it unique among capital cities. Wrapping along the western bank of the River Derwent and its estuary and running back into the city-fringe bushland of kunanyi / Mount Wellington's foothills, the natural environments that surround Hobart are close by and easily accessible.
kingborough.svgKingborough Council – Kingborough municipality to the south of Hobart has one of the longest stretches of picturesque coastline in Tasmania and is the perfect area to explore many beautiful beaches, bushland and spectacular Bruny Island.
derwent_valley.svgDerwent Valley Council – The Derwent Valley area covers 4,111 square kilometres in southern central Tasmania. Starting at Granton on the southern side of the Derwent River and Dromedary on the northern side of the river, the municipality runs from pleasant farmland through to the rugged South West World Heritage Area. New Norfolk, the largest town in the region is a 30 minute drive from Hobart.
clarence.svgClarence City Council – More than one third of the area of Clarence is natural bushland. Along with 191 kilometres of coastline and the Meehan Range, a skyline reserve which runs right along the eastern shore of the Derwent River, the city of Clarence has a unique appearance.
glenorchy.svgThe City of Glenorchy is a local government area of Tasmania nestled between the stunning icons of kunanyi / Mount Wellington and the Derwent River. The City of Glenorchy is Tasmania’s fourth largest city.
brighton.svgBrighton Council – The Brighton municipality covers an area of approximately 168 square kilometres including Hobart’s northern suburbs and is located on the scenic upper eastern side of the Derwent estuary, approximately 25 kilometres from Hobart.
tas_gov_logo.svgTasmanian State Government – The Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment is Tasmania’s lead natural resources agency, responsible for the sustainable management, use and protection of the state’s natural resources and cultural heritage for the benefit of the Tasmanian community.

Other major sponsors include: TasWater, Tasmanian Ports Corporation, Norske Skog Boyer, Hydro Tasmania. Nyrstar Hobart smelter, Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, NRM South and EPA Tasmania.